Skip to content

The 22nd | 1 Corinthians 13:13

November 22, 2010

Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13:13, NLT

After a long haul from June until now, things have been pretty hairy.
J-Snap and I made the decision to move at the beginning of September. That week the water in our apartment was turned off on three different days without notice. The snowball effect continued. It was very stressful packing up for the first time in three years.

Recently, a friend and mentor to both J-Snap and I has been fighting a very righteous battle with Acute Myeloid Leukemia. This lady has made it through round one of chemotherapy. Back in the hospital for round two, she and her husband shared the good news, through their daily Facebook updates, that not one but TWO of her siblings were stem cell/marrow donor matches.

What else do we do when great news shows up on Facebook? Everyone “Liked” the news. What better news can you get that not one but two of the people you should hold closest in your life could give you back what you have not? The ability to safely make your own blood.
Something subtle popped up in the long string of glad tidings and “hooray for brothers and sisters” that got posted.  One of the brothers with matching marrow simply posted

“Non nobis, Domine”

Emily and I were raised in Mennonite, Baptist and Pentecostal churches.  I had no idea what this Latin phrase meant.  So, when I Google searched it – it hit me like a brick wall.
(excerpt from Wikipedia)

Latin
Non nobis, non nobis, Domine

Sed nomini tuo da gloriam.

English
Not to us, not to us, o Lord,

But to your name give glory.

So, I stopped to imagine for a moment: One of my siblings has cancer of the blood.  I have the ability to give them my stem cells so they can start making their own fresh, healthy blood again.  Nowhere in this equation does gloating or self-righteousness come into play.  I would be so utterly thankful to God for letting me have a match with my sibling that there would be no room for playing the hero.

So, I “Liked” the comment “Non nobis, Domine”
And I’m sure that if Oma (remember, this is a “22nd” post) had been here (she would be a Facebook user) she would have done the same.

This family has been my inspiration this month.  Giving what you have selflessly – and just being thankful you are able to do the giving at all.

~ Waters

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

