Skip to content

Things that Inspire | Seasonal Ingredients

May 21, 2010


I’m the worst.  Okay, let’s be fair.  I’m probably just a moderately forgetful person who can’t remember what she buys.  Let’s talk about vegetables.  I buy them, I put them in the drawer and I forget about them.  Can’t I just eat carbohydrates all day long?

Let me tell you, the bread class is not assisting me.

Back to the vegetables.  I bought some fiddleheads a few days back at Provenance Regional Cuisine.  It was Tuesday, as I recall.  We very promptly ate the smoked whitefish that I had also acquired for dinner on Tuesday evening with pumpernickel from the previous week’s bread class.  The fiddle heads got tossed into the fateful drawer and forgotten.

Skip forward to Thursday.  I spent a lovely bit of time in the sun with a beer in the afternoon, came home and sat down.  Mistake.  I fell asleep for two hours.  Then the dinner hour was upon us – argh!  In a pinch, J-Snap and I ran out to grab some dinner-ish things.  I settled on preparing some kind of BLT-style salad.  My original plan was to throw down some avocado on that.  Then the drawer opened.

So, I prepared the fiddleheads instead!  Luckily, this year was easier for me to find a crash refresher on fiddleheads (how do you remember to cook things that you only cook once or twice a year?).  Things went well.  I’ve also been trying to enjoy as much Ontario Asparagus as possible.  Get fresh, eat local.  (You knew it was good to do that, right?)

~ Waters

P.S. Yes, Ontario Asparagus has its own website.  Pretty amazing.

(Photo by Mr. J-Snap Waters)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 5:06 PM

    Would you believe I have fiddleheads in my crisper drawer too?! How did you cook yours? I always sautée them with butter. YUM… baby ferns.

  2. May 22, 2010 1:09 PM

    I boiled them for 12 minutes, drained the water and threw a little salt and butter on them on the warm element so I didn’t have to make two pots/pans. After about 2 minutes I tossed them onto the salad & J-Snap took the pictures. They were awesome. ~Waters

  3. Mom permalink
    June 9, 2010 7:42 PM

    nice picture! they were yummy no doubt! we ate fresh ones that we picked! girls! i have my own close to home secret place to harvest those fiddleheads! ya gotta come home to see where so you can get the real taste of hand picked, just washed and cleaned fiddleheads! but alas… that was at least 3 weeks or more ago! … then there were the wild leeks !! oh yum!
    NOW we’ll have to wait until next year!

Leave a Reply

