Skip to content

How to find the Silver Lining

April 26, 2010

Mr. Light is in the back bedroom singing his heart out as he plays the keys. My heart is so full because as I hear him do one of the things he loves to do most it encourages me to get caught up with my passions too. He’s a great gift and I’m learning to remember that. It’s the “Silver Lining” for me on the days when things don’t always go just right, when we have trouble seeing eye to eye or communicating clearly. He is and has been a blessing to me. He loves me just the way I am but helps me to grow and allows me room to be me.

I believe that too often we wonder where our inspiration – for the next project, to encounter the next person, for tomorrow – will come from because we don’t make an effort to find the Silver Lining. To know the purpose of a thing or the heart of why a person matters in our lives.

There has been a lot of dialogue going on in my relationships about remembering “WHY” and taking time to evalute what will matter at the end of our days when we look back on how we lived. I’m discovering that most of the time, inspiration is simply a matter of choice. It’s looking for the Silver Lining on purpose not realizing it by accident. It’s an effort of the heart. Antoine de Saint-Exupéry wrote in Le Petit Prince:

“And now here is my secret, a very simple secret; it is only with the heart that one can see rightly, what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

~ Light

(Photo via Creative Blob)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

