Skip to content

Inspiration Secret #2

April 19, 2010

Got your pen out?

Inspiration Secret #2:

Appreciate the simple things in life.

Often easier said than done – this takes practice. In a world where media constantly screams at us “Bigger! Better! Faster! More!” it can be trying to remember to appreciate things like a cloudless blue sky on a sunny spring day, finding $5 in your pocket, a cool rock, the smile of someone you love… I think you get what I’m saying here.

When I look back, the times in my life when I felt most inspired to make something, do something, change something, or love someone, came out of appreciation. My appreciation for fresh basil made me want to bake. (You’ll have to look for the Chedder Herb Muffin post coming soon!) My appreciation of a sunny day led me to take a walk this week and gain a fresh perspective. My appreciation of my husband made me want to go hunt down a gift for him today.

Let’s break it down à la dictionary.com, shall we?

ap·pre·ci·ate

verb
1.to be grateful or thankful for
2.to value or regard highly; place a high estimate on
3.to be fully conscious of; be aware of; detect
4.to raise in value.

Interesting. It’s a VERB. That means it’s something we DO that in turn, does something for us – changes how we see our lot in life and has the potential to open up new and exciting doors for an inspiring future!

Take the time to invest in “appreciation moments”. What did you see that you have never noticed before? More importantly – how did it inspire you?

~Light

(Top: Photo by awesome Toronto photoblogger Sam at Daily Dose of Imagery, Bottom: Raspberries, Me & my oldest 2 nephews having fun!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

