Skip to content

Inspiration Secret #1

March 29, 2010

Are you ready for it?

Inspiration Secret #1:

Surround yourself with people who inspire you.

Sound pretty simple doesn’t it? That’s because it is. Friends and family who are pursuing their own dreams and in turn encourage, inspire and push you to go after yours, are invaluable. I am very fortunate to have my sister, Waters, and many great friends who regularly ask me how my projects are going, what my dreams for the future are, and what progress I am making.

One of my best friends, Lisa, is a huge inspiration to me. We’re hard wired pretty much the same way (we attribute this to the fact that her birthday is 4 days before mine!) and that makes for some fun times. She is genuinely interested in seeing me use all the talents I have – to do what I love to do (namely designing “stuff”). Plus she’s good at keeping me accountable for what I’ve said I will do. In retrospect, that’s probably why Waters & Lisa were my Matron & Maid of Honor, they inspire me to follow my heart and live out my dreams.

Lisa & I at my wedding

Do you feel like you need to make more connections with people who will inspire you? Become part of the online blogging community, follow blogs that inspire you (and make comments!), interact with the authors; join a local art class or writing class – meet people in your neighborhood; check out Meetup.com for a group of people with similar interests near where you live. There are so many ways to meet people who are passionate about the same things as you!

Take the time to invest in encouraging relationships. Nothing is as inspiring as a someone who loves you and knows you well that looks you in the eye and says, “Go for it! I believe in you!”

~ Light

(Photo by the talented Monica P.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

